It has been brought to the EHUA attention during games umpires are not giving the correct decisions when a player deliberately lifts the ball by a hit when taking a free hit or during open play. Many conversations have been had, during and after the games, in clubhouses and on social media. I have been asked to put something on the website to help clear this up. So I will draw your attention to rule 9.9. I have highlighted the relevant sentence.
- 9 Players must not intentionally raise the ball from a hit except for a shot at goal. A raised hit must be judged explicitly on whether or not it is raised intentionally. It is not an offence to raise the ball unintentionally from a hit, including a free hit, anywhere on the field unless it is dangerous. If the ball is raised over an opponent’s stick or body on the ground, even within the circle, it is permitted unless judged to be dangerous. Players are permitted to raise the ball with a flick or scoop provided it is not dangerous. A flick or scoop towards an opponent within 5 metres is considered dangerous. If an opponent is clearly running into the shot or into the attacker without attempting to play the ball with their stick, they should be penalised for dangerous play.
So, an intentionally raised ball that is HIT from a free hit or in open play is not permitted and should be penalised accordingly, if it is persistent then a personal penalty should be considered.
I hope this clears up any misunderstanding.